Institute for Missional Formation Cohorts FAQ

As one of the first initiatives of the Institute for Missional Formation (IMF), Covenant is launching three formation cohorts in the fall of 2018. The three new cohorts will start meeting in September and each will include 20 people. There will be four retreats for each of the groups, and participation is mandatory. This is a one-year commitment that will require you to devote time and energy throughout the year.

We have anticipated some of your questions and answered them below. Please read the information carefully and prayerfully consider your decision to join a cohort.

I’m interested!

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a cohort? A cohort is a group of 20 participants who journey together for a year to deepen their relationship with God and to discover how God is calling them to be part of His mission in the world. Together, they retreat, meet in small groups and devote themselves to spiritual practices.

When are the retreats? The four (4) retreats are mandatory. The first two are at a nearby, but out-of-town location and last for 2½ days. The latter two are at Covenant. We have three cohorts, each with specific retreat dates. Those interested must pick one group and attend all the retreats for that group.

The dates are as follows:

Cohort A Retreat Dates

  1. Sept 12-14, 2018: 3 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 12 until noon on Friday, Sept. 14, 2018
  2. Feb. 1-3, 2019: 3 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 1 until noon on Sunday, Feb. 3, 2019
  3. April 26-27, 2019: Friday, April 26 – Saturday, April 27, 2019 (Friday night/Saturday morning at Covenant)
  4. Friday, June 7, 2019: (Friday afternoon and evening agenda at Covenant)

Cohort B Retreat Dates

  1. Sept. 20-22, 2018: 3 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 20 until noon on Saturday, Sept. 22, 2018
  2. Jan. 18-20, 2019: 3 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 18 until noon on Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019
  3. April 5-6, 2019: Friday, April 5 – Saturday, April 6, 2019 (Friday night and Saturday morning agenda at Covenant)
  4. Friday, May 31, 2019: (Friday afternoon and evening agenda at Covenant)

Cohort C Retreat Dates

  1. Sept. 27-29, 2018: 3 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 27 until noon on Saturday, Sept. 29, 2019
  2. Jan. 18-20, 2019: 3 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 18 until noon on Sunday, Jan. 20, 2019
  3. April 12-13, 2019: Friday, April 12 – Saturday, April 13, 2019 (Friday night and Saturday morning agenda at Covenant)
  4. Friday, June 7, 2019: (Friday afternoon and evening agenda at Covenant)

Can I mix and match my retreats from cohort to cohort? No. You will meet with the same cohort of people every time.

What is the cost of the cohort experience? The cost is $250 to offset retreat costs and other materials.

Is there a deadline? Please express your interest on our form by April 30.

I selected my dates. Does that mean I’m part of the cohort? No. We need to ensure that we have three cohorts of 20 people each. Your preferences will be noted and we will try to accommodate them. However, we may not able to grant every request.

When will I know if I am officially in a cohort? By May 15, we hope to let you know next steps.

I have some additional questions. Who can I talk to for more information? Contact Jill Williams at IMFCohort@covenant.org.

I’m interested!